You are here

Erin Burke
Radiology Business
Primary stroke center certification by the Joint Commission is based broadly on three components: standards, guidelines, and performance measures. Under the umbrella of components are 11 criteria that must be met for certification, according to M.J. Hampel, MPH, MBA, senior associate director of the Joint Commission’s Disease-Specific Care
Radiology Business
In Los Angeles County, a 4,752–square-mile urban–suburban sprawl that is home to an estimated 10 million people, no one knows exactly how many acute strokes occur each year or how well they are managed. Nationwide, stroke is the number-three cause of death; stroke-related medical costs in 2010 are estimated at $73.7 billion.1
When the women’s imaging department at the Mount Zion campus of the University of California–San Francisco (UCSF) began transitioning to full-field digital mammography, workstations were implemented to enable radiologists to manage the digital workflow. The very technology that was intended to harness the potential of digital imaging, however,
Radiology Business
Within the past 10 years, the topic of physician-performance benchmarking has progressed from contentious to being one on which entire meetings in the radiology community are based. Some industry analysts say that this evolution has occurred because measuring physician performance has become a necessity, in today’s health-care environment, due to