ACR Unveils a Modular MRI Accreditation Process

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
e-mail icon
Google icon

The ACR is set to launch a new modular MRI accreditation program designed to meet the specific practice patterns of individual facilities. Sometime this month, the current general MRI accreditation program will transition to the new program—which includes brain, spine, musculoskeletal, body, MR angiography, and cardiac modules—opening the door to specialty magnets and modifying two of the physics tests for 3T MRI. A program for breast MRI is currently under development, but will be folded into the breast imaging accreditation program.

“This new approach offers facilities a more flexible accreditation program that recognizes that facility practice patterns vary, depending on the patient population served and the number of magnets used.”
—Theresa Branham, RT, ACR MRI/CT accreditation program manager

Branham continues, “Facilities will have six modules to choose from, so they can match their accreditation to their practice on each magnet.” As in the existing MRI accreditation program, the new modular process includes a combination of self-assessment and independent external audit, based on ACR guidelines and technical standards. The qualifications of personnel, policies and procedures, equipment specifications, quality-assurance activities, and patient safety are similarly assessed.

The key difference is that facilities can accredit their magnets for one or more (or even all) of the modules; multimagnet facilities have the option of accrediting different magnets for different purposes. Prices will be listed on the Web site when the program is launched.

Some facilities, Branham notes, have multiple magnets and prefer a particular magnet for a particular type of exam. She says, “Other facilities may have a limited patient flow due to several factors, such as the type of physicians they receive referrals from; they may also be specialty or even subspecialty practices.”

How It Works

Facilities must submit a minimum of four exams if applying for accreditation in just one module, including at least one specialty exam and three basic exams, or a maximum of 6 exams if applying in all six modules, including one specialty exam for each module (see Table 1.)


“A basic examination is one that is routinely performed, and of a routine difficulty,” Branham explains. Specialty examinations, she adds, are more difficult to perform at a high level of quality.

Facilities may chose from the following specialty exams for each module:

  • Brain Exams Brain, for transient ischemic attack
  • Internal auditory canal (IAC/temporal bone), for hearing loss
  • Brain, for suspected demyelinating disease
  • Pituitary, with dynamic contrast enhancement
  • Orbits, for vision loss

Spine Exams Lumbar spine

  • Thoracic spine
  • Cervical spine
  • Cervical spine, with contrast for intramedullary disease

Musculoskeletal Exams

  • Knee, such as for internal derangement
  • Shoulder, such as for internal derangement
  • Wrist, such as for internal derangement
  • Elbow, such as for internal derangement
  • Forefoot, such as for internal derangement

Body Exams

  • Male pelvis, such as for prostate cancer
  • Renal
  • Hepatobiliary, to include MR cholangiopancreatography
  • Female pelvis, such as for uterine or adnexal disease

MR Angiography Exams

  • Brain
  • Carotid
  • Thoracic aorta
  • Distal peripheral runoff
  • High-resolution arch and carotid
  • Abdomen, for renal stenosis

Cardiac Exams

  • Black blood
  • Basic
  • Delayed enhanced cine 1
  • Delayed enhanced cine 2
  • Delayed enhanced cine plus black blood

The new process features a Clinical Image Quality Guide intended to provide additional direction to facilities in producing high-quality images that meet program criteria. “The ACR CT accreditation program has a Clinical Image Quality Guide, and now the ACR has expanded that to the MRI accreditation program,” Branham notes. “The Clinical Image Quality Guide will assist facilities in understanding the requirements and recommendations of the ACR MRI accreditation program as they pertain to image quality for specific examinations. It also covers the scoring categories used by the accreditation reviewers for the clinical images.”

The ACR has accepted applications to accredit 3T magnets since July of 2005, but two of the physics tests performed for accreditation have been assigned different pass/fail criteria for 3T magnets in the modular process.

The online application will guide users through the process, calculating the number of exams that need to be submitted as well as the cost. “Facilities